Thread: Sub woofer install FAQ & install options 101

Name:

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Sub woofer install FAQ & install options 101

OK... funny story.. I went through & tallied the PM's I get every week. the #1 question is about sub woofer options besides the JL Audio stealth box...

SO I will do this with a couple stipulations:

1.) You have read & can recite the Audio FAQ...
    2.) You have read & mumble the JL Audio Stealth Box 101 in your sleep & your wife/girlfriend/boyfriend/mother is mad

Subwoofer systems are as personal & difficult as building an engine, or a complete show car. What you listen to, how loud you listen, what source (CD? DVD? XM? AM?? FM?? Cassette? 8-Track?), & of course which version of a HD truck (or any vehicle really) you have. So with that said lets look at the '00 & then the '01-'03 trucks.. I have ZERO experience with the '04 SD-HD but the basics apply.

Overall, for all years of trucks the very first question you have to ask yourself is what do I really expect this thing to do? If you are looking to flip quarters off the roof.. then get out the wallet & stop reading. If you want more than a Stealth box then continue. Next question is how far are you willing to go to get that additional output. If you want more than a stealth box's output, you cant do it with stock HU or one amp. Stop reading. We are talking about a $3,000 audio investment minimum to eclipse the Stealth output.. there are too many additional things needed. I am not going into bed mounted subwoofer systems here. that is $10K+ territory.... SO the purpose here is to talk about the INTERIOR option by year for subwoofer systems as a general conversation.

Last thing: Under seat enclosures are simply weird & rarely give any kind of successful output. YES they can be pulled off but they require lots of fabrication skill & time.. not practical. but workable.. PM me if this is what you are thinking.