Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Merlin.....I need some tips!

World's Fastest Street HD
    Name: Josh

Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts

Question Merlin.....I need some tips!

Hey Merlin,

Although many will think I"m a detailing guru, I'm a novice in comparison to your expertise! I've got a black '99 Lightning I'm cleaning up for a flip, and the paint needs some TLC. When I got the truck it was literally FLAT black. It's been at least 2 years since it was washed, and who knows how long since it was waxed. Here's what I did so far....

1. Dawn Wash
    2. Zaino Claybar
    3. Meguiars Ultimate Compound w/ yellow pad on the DA on speed 6
    4. Meguiars Ultimate Polish w/ a yellow pad on the DA on speed 5
    5. Meguiars Ultimate Wax w/ a tan pad on the DA on speed 5

It's actually looking VERY good, it's 1,000 times better than it was when I started, it's now a deep shiny gloss black! BUT....there's still a lot of swirls and scuffs that were deeper than what my DA with a yellow pad and the Meg products could remove. Since I'm listing this truck up for sale, I don't want to spend endless hours or huge bucks for a perfect flawless finish, it's just not going to happen, but I do want to make it look as mint as possible for the next owner without going crazy. If it were a regular f150 I'd be perfectly happy where it's at now to sell. Since it's a Lightning, I want to go that little extra step.

I guess long story short basically I need some tips and advice for the starting point products for paint correction. Compounds/polishes and pads/speeds. I've got a good assortment of end stage products from the full zaino arsenal, the full meguiars ultimate collection, and black fire wet diamond and midnight sun. Again since it's a flip I wasn't planning on using BFWD on it, but I do want to fix the deeper paint swirls and marks.