Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Need Help! w/ Window Issues - Drivers Side

  1. #1
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts

    Need Help! w/ Window Issues - Drivers Side

    A few weeks ago I started having issues with the drivers window. First thing I think of is that its a fuse (#601 CB - Power Windows, Moonroof)? Checked it and it's good. Maybe the relay (Relay #4 - One-touch down window relay) because I can hear an audible click under the dash while trying to activate the drivers window. Replace the relay and nothing. Do some searching and see where another member had issues with his window master control switch so I bought one, installed it and nothing. Go back to the fuse and check it again and nothing. I've performed several searches and can't seem to find anything. Now I'm frustrated.

    Keep in mind that I know absolutely nothing about electrical.

    Fuse: 30AMP and controls ALL of the windows and moonroof. Try the moonroof and it works fine (even though it's on the same fuse). Try ALL the other windows and they all work except for the f'en drivers window. Rear sliding window also works fine. WTF.

    Any help on this subject would be greatly appreciated!!

  2. #2
    aka not rite
    Name: Bob

    B.O.B.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    468
    Like
    37
    Liked 55 Times in 44 Posts
    What are the issues you are having with the window? Think the only thing left is the motor.

  3. #3
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Yep, or the mechanism attached to it. Spoke to a guy at work today and he sent me a link for power window motor repair rebuild kit.

    Granted it was for a Crown Vic but I'll look for one for an F150 and I should be good. He states he's rebuilt several over the years and it's not the actual motor but the cheap plastic components which link the motor to the window. Need to get into mine to have a look.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Name: BRIAN


    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Posts
    462
    Like
    109
    Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5.4 F150 View Post
    Yep, or the mechanism attached to it. Spoke to a guy at work today and he sent me a link for power window motor repair rebuild kit.

    Granted it was for a Crown Vic but I'll look for one for an F150 and I should be good. He states he's rebuilt several over the years and it's not the actual motor but the cheap plastic components which link the motor to the window. Need to get into mine to have a look.
    Yeah you kinda took the long route. Pop door panel very easy on these trucks check for power at window motor. Bet that's your issue.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Yeah, I know but I did state that I didn't no **** about electrical. It confuses the hell outta me;)

    Started thinking about what my buddy at work said while looking for the motor rebuild kit and it didn't add up. If it was the mechanism, why can't I roll the other three windows down from the drivers door either? They all roll up/down individually from each door, just not from the drivers door.

    Started checking all of the fuses one by one over the weekend and didn't find anything so I called the company that installed my alarm system on Monday and explained the symptoms. They said to bring it on Tuesday. Within minutes, they resolved the issue. It was a 15amp fuse they installed during the alarm installation. Drove home and played with windows the whole time. Got in it this morning and the windows didn't work again so it's probably a short somewhere due to a chaffed wire during the original install that has just surfaced. Didn't have time today but need to take it back to them again to find the short or it's going to keep blowing the fuse.
    JBA Coffee & Cars 06/12/2016


  6. #6
    Registered User
    Name: BRIAN


    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Posts
    462
    Like
    109
    Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5.4 F150 View Post
    Yeah, I know but I did state that I didn't no **** about electrical. It confuses the hell outta me;)

    Started thinking about what my buddy at work said while looking for the motor rebuild kit and it didn't add up. If it was the mechanism, why can't I roll the other three windows down from the drivers door either? They all roll up/down individually from each door, just not from the drivers door.

    Started checking all of the fuses one by one over the weekend and didn't find anything so I called the company that installed my alarm system on Monday and explained the symptoms. They said to bring it on Tuesday. Within minutes, they resolved the issue. It was a 15amp fuse they installed during the alarm installation. Drove home and played with windows the whole time. Got in it this morning and the windows didn't work again so it's probably a short somewhere due to a chaffed wire during the original install that has just surfaced. Didn't have time today but need to take it back to them again to find the short or it's going to keep blowing the fuse.
    So you can control the power windows with your remote is what I'm reading ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BRIANV View Post
    So you can control the power windows with your remote is what I'm reading ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Nope. No window function from the alarm remote either. Spoke to the installer again today and they think it's the window controller. Supposed to drop it tomorrow so they can swap the module out.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Name: BRIAN


    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Posts
    462
    Like
    109
    Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5.4 F150 View Post
    Nope. No window function from the alarm remote either. Spoke to the installer again today and they think it's the window controller. Supposed to drop it tomorrow so they can swap the module out.
    Why are they tapping into the window circuit to install a alarm?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BRIANV View Post
    Why are they tapping into the window circuit to install a alarm?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I've got a Viper alarm and one of the options is it can roll the windows down from the remote and rolls them up automatically when I arm it.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Name: BRIAN


    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Posts
    462
    Like
    109
    Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5.4 F150 View Post
    I've got a Viper alarm and one of the options is it can roll the windows down from the remote and rolls them up automatically when I arm it.
    I think you need to disconnect that alarm all together and see if you get your windows back ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Name: Aponso


    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    San Fernando Valley
    Posts
    12
    Like
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Need Help Just Bought A Harley And Windows Or Moonroof And Radio Not Workinh All Fuses Are Fine HELP Can it Be
    GEM Module

  12. #12
    '03 Shamu/Build #04441
    Name: Sean

    5.4 F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    574
    Like
    20
    Liked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Quickhd View Post
    Need Help Just Bought A Harley And Windows Or Moonroof And Radio Not Workinh All Fuses Are Fine HELP Can it Be
    GEM Module
    Sorry, didn't see this post when I replied to your other. I know the windows and moonroof are on the same circuit but the radio is a separate circuit. In my case it was just the windows due to a bad component in the alarm system which controlled the windows. Moonroof, radio, etc. all worked fine. Have you searched the forum for an answer?

  13. #13
    Oki 916's Dad NHTOC #103
    Name: Slick

    Sport90's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leland NC
    Posts
    1,820
    Like
    98
    Liked 59 Times in 48 Posts
    When #1 had my truck to do multiple things, when I got it back there was a box included.
    Told it was the Viper crap that they uninstalled. Heck it hasn't worked for so long forgot I still had it installed.

    Reason I disconnected it was I had an un-commanded alarm (siren) go off while I was cruising 301 in MD.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Name: BRIAN


    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Posts
    462
    Like
    109
    Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    What ever happened here?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •